Life @ M.B.A!!!

 Never ever thought in my life that I would mention “sleeping” if I were to answer the question “what I do in my free time”. 

Yes, sleeping is something that I miss the most after joining MBA. Gone were those good old days where the night after 10 pm was reserved for a movie or serial on lappy. Now, it is the auspicious time of the day when I open my books only to open my mouth and yawnnnnnn!!

After many trail and errors in the past three years, here I am enrolled in a MBA programme at Narsee Monjee (Its an Indian school, not a Mongolian) which the public refer to as NMIMS. And so my base shifted to Mumbai and I can proudly call myself a Mumbaikar. Amchi Mumbai!

10 June 2013 & First Week

   The day I was looking for since 3 years. With a folder containing my certificates in one hand and a wet umbrella in the other, I am standing in front a gate that read Welcome to Batch 2013-15. There are many others like me and few “enthusiastic” ones with a blazer and a tie. I hardly managed to tuck in my “phormal” shirt.  It was the inauguration day and I was excited yet skeptic looking at the number of people who sat on the dais.

Bingo!!! 3 hours of non-stop slaughtering by the speakers followed by a delicious meal offered by the college. Once again the ritual of “I-have-the-mike-and-i-speak-forever” started that made me uncomfortable to doze off.  The day one is over and I am now an M.B.A in making. Feeling awesome.

 The next day, we were supposed to go to Khopoli for outbound training but the God Varuna had other plans for us. We ended up having in-bound training in the same hall we had inauguration. It was fun to involve in team games, silly strategic games and round table conferences. It was a day I cherished a lot after the hectic inauguration ritual.

The other days followed by introducing us to case studies, simulation games and personal communication. Phew!! And then comes the day we all were eagerly waiting for. Mumbai Darshan!

It’s the NM’s version of the Amazing Race. Oh God! What a funtabulous time I had. Made many friends, chased the destinations on taxis, autos and trains, clicked the pictures infront of Ambani’s Antilla,  Infiniti mall, Jaguar & Rolls-Royce cars, took over the control of a Vadapav shop in Juhu beach, gave weird poses at Bandra-Worli sea link and what not. It was the most tiresome yet the most exciting and entertaining day so far. Mumbai, meri jaaan!!!

Back to Classes

After going through some of the life changing experiences in the last four years, I am back to classroom learning. I am now a student, once again. The classes took off like the Mumbai-NewYork Air India flight. The schedule is time crunching and it was difficult to cope up with the lessons. The assignments were thrown on our faces and we gave the obvious response of “Oh! Not again!

The meanings of the words “GAS” and “DCP” were changed forever. GAS is no longer one of the states of matter but Generally Accepted Shit and  DCP is no longer Deputy Commissioner of Police but Desperate Classroom Participation. During the classes, some students took down the notes, some were deeply engrossed what the professor was saying and few people like me dozed off in the back-benches. The teams were formed to carryout the projects or assignments.

Student Clubs

NMIMS has lot of student clubs, 16 to be precise. They  pitched us about their clubs and invited us to apply for them. The PlaceCom visited us every now and then and I was glad to see the personification of power.  I applied for few of them and my interviews were scheduled. It was fun to attend them. So many interviews were lined up at different timings that I, for the first time ever, had to make a schedule of how I would spend today at college. Yikes!!! What did I turn into?

But it was fun attending those interviews and give away GAS-types answers for the questions put across the table. I was selected for the Student Club, the apex body of Student clubs and Mantavya, the literary and quizzing club of NMIMS. The time will decide whether I am fortunate enough.

Typical Day @ MBA

The classes are from 9 am to 2 pm. Initially, I thought there was hell lot of free time but now I feel like the time is not sufficient at all. There are guest sessions, seminar and gyan-sessions bombarded at us every now and then. I register for ‘n’ number of such events that I tend to forget what events I have actually registered for. This might sometimes land me up in trouble if I miss any of these events. Amidst these, I have to attend the regular student club meetings which are also demand mandatory attendance. And the placecom meetings are all together in a different league. I somehow started loving the aura they carry and the personification of power they portray. And I can not comment on them further as I am CENSORED! I badly need a placement after I graduate.

After a hectic day at the college, I return back home and lay back on the bed. Never thought that relaxing on the bed is a luxury! When I am about to deep dive into sleep mode, the calling bell rings and the maid walks in to prepare the dinner. I check my mails, fill few google forms to register for events and seminars, update FB status and call my parents.  And then the delicious dinner is ready. We like a bunch of thugs fight over the curry share. And then it is 10 pm.

The laptops are once again switched on with chargers plugged in and this time its not for the movies but for the ppts with bold font letters in the slides. With big books in the hand and laptop on the lap, I feel like I am rushi praying to attain moksha. The reading stuff with FBing alongside makes me swim through the day and I look at the time in the laptop. It would show something like 2 or 3 am. The feeling of tiresomeness make me value the luxury of sleeping. I resign from the rushi’s yoga mudra and hit my head on the soft pillow.

And the journey starts into the dream world. Sometimes, I get the inception dreams of sleeping and dreaming in a dream. The wonderful journey is disturbed by the mobile alarm which rings at 8 am. As usual, the alarm is snoozed and I wake up at 8:20 am only to rush up and pray that I get an auto in front of my flat. Hiring an auto is an art in Mumbai and I am trying to master it.

And I rush up to the college and by that time, the classes would have started.  And i typically knock the door and ask

May I come in Ma’m?

And the rest, as they say, is history  😛

7 comments on “Life @ M.B.A!!!

  1. Palak says:

    Hey Sunil. I just happened to download one of your NMAT materials, then read your blog about MBA. It’s nice and refreshing. 🙂

  2. mohit says:

    loved it buddy GBU

  3. aisha says:

    hie sunil..
    well i dream of going 2 nmims n by d time of searching nmims got 2 see your blog
    i really really like it 😀

  4. Harjeet Karan Singh says:

    Heyy Sunil!! Loved your blog. Also, thank God i finally found a student at NMIMS to interact with. I really wish to talk to you regarding the admission I have been offered at NM as I need to vent certain apprehensions I am currently having. Please help!! Badly in need!!

  5. abhiram says:

    Loved u r blog bro.Joining this June .Hoping for the bestest..!!!! 🙂

  6. manish porwal says:

    Hey nicely written.got the gist of events.I would be joining this june.hope you would be having nice experience in internship

Leave a Reply

